♡ Gems 2.16 ♡

ith aWEDDING SONG cypress

Cyprus by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law, Shadowscapes.com, one of the paintings featured in Elanthian Love Songs.

♡ Gems, Gemstone and Elanthian Love Songs – A Bard’s Tale ♡

Serendipity

Things are going smoothly here save for a few last minute changes to my poetry book Elanthian Love Songs – a Bard’s Tale.  It is to be my first published book.  The release date is still set for Valentine’s Day (Sunday) on Amazon.  It’s nearly there!  The book is closely tied in with Gems as you will see, below.  Serendipitous…ly, Hay House came out with a series of free videos on getting published with some great practical advice.

My days are more balanced as I work hard, and as dreams I’ve had for years are coming to be.  I’ve been getting up with the sun, doing yoga and meditating, then starting my day. I’m off coffee completely and drinking either ginger and lemon tea or peppermint (from fresh-cut herbs) as a morning drink.  At home, we’re putting in a hardwood floor in our living room and hall this week.  We’ve been unloading boxes and boxes of papers and I’ve been organizing filing systems both for our house budget and my own writing projects.  The Hay House video series had some great ideas about that.

Seashore Strolling (or Running)

We’re walking more and as the snow is melted now, we’ll be out daily again to get ready for the 5th Annual Running for Joy 5k/1 mile. I  can’t believe this is the 5th year.  You’re very welcome to join us (no matter where you walk the miles). =) Remote walkers/runners who do either the 5k or 1 mile will receive shiny awards made of 1’s and 0’s too!

Son-shine

 My oldest son is staying with us now and has been such an encouragement and good example.  He is learning musical healing techniques, Ayurvedic yoga, herbal healing and meditation.  I’m learning with him!  It’s been a joy to talk to him every day about everything he’s learned.   I’m stronger and healthier than I’ve been in a long time using his suggestions and especially getting rid of all the toxins in our home.  We eat really clean now, and almost everything is from one-ingredient organic sources.  We rarely eat meat and most of protein comes from fish and plants.  We recently joined our local, organic whole-foods co-op in Newark which also has a huge selection of fresh-cut herbs.  This summer we’ll be growing our own herbs and vegetables.  Our entire backyard will be rototillered as soon as the ground thaws.  There will be lots of room for herbs and veggies. =)

Sara Michele O’Something-or-other and Shadowscapes

Today I’m putting the final touches on my book and cover. I’m waiting to hear back from my editor on two poems and from my artist friend about the cover design I did.  The cover and every one of the poems features the beautiful art of Stephanie Pui-Mun Law (Shadowscapes.com).  We purchased a limited copyright for Elanthian Love Songs.  I will have a supporting website — either saramicheleosullivan.com (which is the pen name I used for my old poetry) or wolfkin.net.  I couldn’t get NikiFlow.com because that was taken by an inspirational speaker named Niki Flow.  I’m happy with Wolfkin.com though.  (Wolfkin is Niki Flow backwards).  =)

Soon:  Online Gallery Show for Gems

Under 1000 Skies and Gems is on temporary hiatus until we get more original photo donations.  I’m working on a gallery show (online) that will have a way to donate to support the work of Gems.  The opening date will be February 29th.

Seeking Gems

If you or anyone you know is interested in donating photos and/or becoming a volunteer for Gems in your area, please let me know.  The volunteer pack includes three disposable cameras, three pairs of gloves and three scarves for the winter.  Summer packs will include cameras, sunglasses and baseball caps.  The packet also includes scripts for approaching with respect those who are currently between homes, three notepads and pens for the artist to record notes after each photo and three self-addressed stamped envelopes to return the cameras to me for developing.    In the days to come, I hope to include fleece blankets with the winter packets and sun screen with the summer packets.  Once I receive the photos, I scan and upload them, then I use PaintShop Pro to add the frame, the artist notes (or inspirational quotes if there are no notes).  Then I distribute these via the email list, the website and the social media sites (listed below).

Songs of the Heart

So far I am working with a homeless man in Denver named John who also writes poetry.  He is working on putting together a two- or three-week series of photos for me and those will be featured next  My friend Nicole (Wild Dream Walks) has facilitated my introduction to John.  He’s a beautiful soul and very creative.  Nicole also has one person in Denver that is interested in being be a volunteer for Gems / Volunteer Biographers and one in San Francisco, so that’s exciting!  We’re also hoping to affiliate soon with a soup kitchen in Philly.

Seeker Finds

My biggest contributor of photos in the past two months was a man who was homeless most of 2015  — my son Benjamin.  He says he prefers the term “nomadic” to “homeless.”  =)  During that year, his life was touched deeply by a spiritual awakening.   He came close to dying twice and both times, and in both circumstances, his survival was miraculous.  During this year and his awakening, my son literally did an about-face.  This new direction he walks is filling me with joy — and health! He has been instrumental in helping all of us — my husband Mike, his brother Joe, his Nana (my mom), and many of his friends, too.

So Grateful for Laddership!

 The Laddership Program by Service Space where I have been one of the co-creators (as our beloved mentor Nipun Mehta calls it) since 2014 showed me that I can be a part of the gift economy and design for generosity, too.  The people I met through the program showed me that I can live my dream within the framework of my principles as they are doing or plan to do.  So, to that end, half the proceeds from the sale of Elanthian Love Songs will go toward Gems.

 

So Much Inspiration!

 The poetry book, Elanthian Love Songs, is a bridge for the Gems project because I wrote every one of the 21 poems in the book while playing an online text-based role-playing game called Gemstone — thus “Gems.”  The creativity flowed like water in Elanthia, and it was a beautiful time of learning from and being inspired by the brilliant and beautiful people for whom I wrote my poems.

Soon, More Songs (etc.)

Elanthian Love Songs is the first of four poetry books, three short-story volumes, one screen play and at least two novels that will support the work of Gems 50/50.

I’ll be posting an invitation for you soon to the Gems “1st Online Gallery Show” eta February 29th.

I hope you have a beautiful day.

 

__________________________________

 

Here’s the blurb from the “About” section of “Under 1000 Skies” blog on Word Press where Gems are featured. 

Welcome!

I hope you’ve enjoyed our featured photos. We now linked with Volunteer Biographers. We’ll be working with some folks who are currently between homes on a really exciting photography project, “Show Me What You Love and I Will Know Your Heart.” ♡

We distribute disposable cameras to these artists and the only assignment is, “Show me what you find beautiful.” When you know what someone finds beautiful, you get a glimpse into that person’s heart.

Every six months or so we’ll have a Gallery display to show all the work contributed. You can download the photos to print and if you like donate. All donations (100 percent) go to the purchase of disposable cameras and developing the film.

I would love to feature your artwork or photos. Please send me a note and anything you want featured. I will add title, copyright info, and your website if you have one.

The world needs more light-filled Gems. So please think about all your art work and paintings and photos and let’s sprinkle these beautiful light-filled gems into the world together. =)

More about Gems

You can find the “Gems” all over the net, featured

You can find *Gems” on Facebook here:
https://www.facebook.com/LightFilledGems

On Pinterest:
https://www.pinterest.com/jazztizz/gems/

Twitter:
https://twitter.com/jazztizz

Tumblr:
http://jazztizz.tumblr.com/

and G+
https://plus.google.com/u/0/115176813967792654833/posts

 

We Need You

If you’d like to be a donating artist and/or volunteer coordinator for an outreach in your town, please leave me a note. It is no accident you are here.

We Are All Connected.

♥. Niki Flow

Leave a Reply

